• the-first-woman-featured-image
    ADULT,  ARCS,  BOOK REVIEWS,  CULTURAL,  EAST AFRICAN,  FICTION,  LITERARY FICTION,  NETGALLEY

    BOOK REVIEW : THE FIRST WOMAN BY JENNIFER NANSUBUGA MAKUMBI

    The First Woman is my first book from the Ugandan novelist Jennifer Nansubuga Makumbi. Her first novel is very well received. When I read the synopsis of the book, I was intrigued. The novel tells the story of a young girl Kirabo raised by her grandparents in a rural village in Uganda. Her father is only an occasional visitor, while there is no news about her mother. As she starts to grow up, she feels the absence of her mother and is on a quest to find out more about her. She searches out Nsuuta, the village witch, to learn more about herself and her mom. Nsuuta tells her the…

  • away-with-the-penguins-featured-image
    ADULT,  ARCS,  BOOK REVIEWS,  COMEDY / SATIRE / HUMOR,  CONTEMPORARY,  FICTION,  NETGALLEY,  WOMEN'S FICTION

    BOOK REVIEW : AWAY WITH THE PENGUINS BY HAZEL PRIOR

    Away With The Penguins by Hazel Prior fascinated me from the get-go. Something about this book pulled me in. The title and the synopsis hooked me when I read them. I loved the illustrated covers, as well. I was also intrigued by the penguins and how they fit in with the story. When I picked this book up, I had no idea I will be gobbling up the whole story in one sitting. It was that good. Away With The Penguins is a beautiful book of friendships, family, second-chances, and healing. It tells the story of our two protagonists, a grandmother, and her grandson, who meets for the first time…

  • Kingdom-of-the-wicked-featured-image
    ARCS,  BOOK REVIEWS,  FANTASY,  FICTION,  HISTORICAL FICTION,  NETGALLEY,  YA

    BOOK REVIEW : KINGDOM OF THE WICKED (KINGDOM OF THE WICKED #1) BY KERRI MANISCALCO

    Kingdom Of The Wicked is the first book in the series by the same name. I have never read a Kerri Maniscalco book before and have only heard fantastic things about the Stalking Jack The Ripper Series. That series has been on my TBR for some time now, and hopefully, I'll be able to get around to it sometime soon. When I requested this ARC, I had no idea I'll get approved. I did shriek a little bit in excitement when I got accepted. So you see, I am pumped for this series big time. The cover is gorgeous and gives me the perfect October vibes, and on top of…

  • The-Exiles-featured-image
    ADULT,  ARCS,  BOOK REVIEWS,  CULTURAL,  FICTION,  HISTORICAL FICTION,  LITERARY FICTION,  NETGALLEY,  WOMEN'S FICTION

    BOOK REVIEW : THE EXILES BY CHRISTINA BAKER KLINE

    The Exiles by Christina Baker Kline is a well-researched historical fiction set in 19th century Australia. The book tells us the story of three women, Evangeline, Hazel, and Mathinna. Evangeline and Hazel are the two English convicts who get sentenced to Van Diemen’s Land. The Prisoners from Newgate Prison got often transported to the Island, where they had to complete the rest of their sentences. Mathinna is the Aboriginal orphan who gets uprooted from her life to live with the governor and his wife. The book is vividly descriptive and meticulously researched, giving the readers a distinct impression of the hardships and oppression faced each of these women during their…

  • the-missing-piece-featured-image
    ADULT,  ARCS,  BOOK REVIEWS,  CONTEMPORARY,  FICTION,  NETGALLEY,  ROMANCE,  WOMEN'S FICTION

    BOOK REVIEW : THE MISSING PIECE BY CATHERINE MILLER

    The Missing Piece by Catherine Miller is a contemporary fiction is an endearing and heart-warming story of two unique people who meet under an unusual circumstance. Keisha is a Ph.D. research student studying Broken Heart Syndrome. During a research project, she meets the seventy-nine-year-old Clive, who manages to burrow under her tough exterior and make a lasting impression. Clive's story fascinates Keisha, and she decides to help him through a difficult time. Clive's past is one big mystery, and as they both help each other out, the past unravels, bringing forward second chances, new-loves, and opportunities to live one's life to the fullest. Clive and Keisha were fascinating characters. I…

  • painting-the-lines-featured-image
    ADULT,  ARCS,  BOOK REVIEWS,  CONTEMPORARY,  FICTION,  ROMANCE,  SPORTS,  STORYORIGIN

    BOOK REVIEW : PAINTING THE LINES (ACE OF HEARTS #1) BY ASHLEY R. KING

    Painting The Lines is the first book in the Ace Of Hearts series and is also the debut novel from Ashley R. King. Look at that cover!! I love it when books have illustrated covers. It's so adorable. I haven't read many romances this year, and I was itching to read one so badly. Painting The Lines seemed like such a fun read with the enemies to lovers trope. As it's one of my favorite tropes in romance books, I was excited to dive into this one. Amalie is a writer with one bestseller under her belt. After having a onetime success with her book, her life became more challenging…

  • The-girl-of-hawthorn-and-glass-featured-image
    ARCS,  BOOK REVIEWS,  FANTASY,  FICTION,  NETGALLEY,  PARANORMAL,  YA

    BOOK REVIEW : THE GIRL OF HAWTHORN AND GLASS (THE GIRL OF HAWTHORN AND GLASS #1) BY ADAN JERREAT – POOLE

    The Girl Of Hawthorn And Glass is the debut book from the author Adan Jerreat Poole. This YA fantasy is the first book I completed in October. It was the cover that drew me in, and the synopsis also sounded promising to me. The story is of a young girl Eli who is the daughter of one of the witches. Eli is a trained ghost hunter and comes to earth to hunt the ghosts living among humans. She has lived her whole life with a tyrant witch-mother with the fear of being unmade into her original parts. On of the ghost hunting missions, things go wrong, making her question all…

  • Monthly-wrap-up-featured-image
    SEPTEMBER,  WRAP-UP

    SEPTEMBER WRAP-UP

    September was quite the month for me! I wasn't sure if I'll be able to read the books on my TBR, with kids getting back to online classes and our move this month. Things were hectic, and I so close to dropping everything. One of the reasons I wasn't sure I was going to make my TBR target was because all the books I planned for this month happen to be the lengthier, slower-paced, literary, and historical fiction books. It was the kind of books one needs to take the time and savor it rather than reading in one sitting. I am ecstatic and proud to have finished all of…

  • crowning-soul-featured-image
    ARCS,  BOOK REVIEWS,  FANTASY,  FICTION,  NETGALLEY,  YA

    BOOK REVIEW : CROWNING SOUL (HEART OF NOORENIA #1) BY SAHIRA JAVAID

    Crowning Soul is the debut fantasy book from the author Sahira Javaid. It is the first book in the series by the name Heart of Noorenia. When I saw the blurb mentioning the book being perfect for fans of InuYasha, I got really pumped to read this. The story follows young Nezha Zaman, a fire mage whose life gets upended after her encounters with a vindictive Jinn. She realizes dangers are lurking around her, and it seems to be following her and her family. She gets pulled into a different realm called Noorenia, which she, later on, realizes to be her family's roots as well. On arrival at Noorenia, she…

  • A-Single-swallow-featured-image
    ADULT,  ARCS,  BOOK REVIEWS,  CULTURAL,  FICTION,  HISTORICAL FICTION,  LITERARY FICTION,  NETGALLEY

    BOOK REVIEW : A SINGLE SWALLOW BY LING ZHANG, TRANSLATED BY SHELLY BRYANT

    A Single Swallow is the story of a young woman Ah Yan. Ah Yan's life story, her journey from a naive young girl to a courageous young woman, is told from the perspectives of the three men in her life. After Japan's surrender, bringing an end to World War 2. The three men, after a day of joyous celebrations, take a vow to meet every year at the village. It was where they have lived, fought a war, and survived challenging times. Now seventy years later, they get to fulfill their promise. The American missionary Pastor Billy, the gunner’s mate Ian Ferguson, and a local soldier Liu Zhaohu come together…