• away-with-the-penguins-featured-image
    ADULT,  ARCS,  BOOK REVIEWS,  COMEDY / SATIRE / HUMOR,  CONTEMPORARY,  FICTION,  NETGALLEY,  WOMEN'S FICTION

    BOOK REVIEW : AWAY WITH THE PENGUINS BY HAZEL PRIOR

    Away With The Penguins by Hazel Prior fascinated me from the get-go. Something about this book pulled me in. The title and the synopsis hooked me when I read them. I loved the illustrated covers, as well. I was also intrigued by the penguins and how they fit in with the story. When I picked this book up, I had no idea I will be gobbling up the whole story in one sitting. It was that good. Away With The Penguins is a beautiful book of friendships, family, second-chances, and healing. It tells the story of our two protagonists, a grandmother, and her grandson, who meets for the first time…

  • Monthly-wrap-up-featured-image
    SEPTEMBER,  WRAP-UP

    SEPTEMBER WRAP-UP

    September was quite the month for me! I wasn't sure if I'll be able to read the books on my TBR, with kids getting back to online classes and our move this month. Things were hectic, and I so close to dropping everything. One of the reasons I wasn't sure I was going to make my TBR target was because all the books I planned for this month happen to be the lengthier, slower-paced, literary, and historical fiction books. It was the kind of books one needs to take the time and savor it rather than reading in one sitting. I am ecstatic and proud to have finished all of…

  • crowning-soul-featured-image
    ARCS,  BOOK REVIEWS,  FANTASY,  FICTION,  NETGALLEY,  YA

    BOOK REVIEW : CROWNING SOUL (HEART OF NOORENIA #1) BY SAHIRA JAVAID

    Crowning Soul is the debut fantasy book from the author Sahira Javaid. It is the first book in the series by the name Heart of Noorenia. When I saw the blurb mentioning the book being perfect for fans of InuYasha, I got really pumped to read this. The story follows young Nezha Zaman, a fire mage whose life gets upended after her encounters with a vindictive Jinn. She realizes dangers are lurking around her, and it seems to be following her and her family. She gets pulled into a different realm called Noorenia, which she, later on, realizes to be her family's roots as well. On arrival at Noorenia, she…

  • A-Single-swallow-featured-image
    ADULT,  ARCS,  BOOK REVIEWS,  CULTURAL,  FICTION,  HISTORICAL FICTION,  LITERARY FICTION,  NETGALLEY

    BOOK REVIEW : A SINGLE SWALLOW BY LING ZHANG, TRANSLATED BY SHELLY BRYANT

    A Single Swallow is the story of a young woman Ah Yan. Ah Yan's life story, her journey from a naive young girl to a courageous young woman, is told from the perspectives of the three men in her life. After Japan's surrender, bringing an end to World War 2. The three men, after a day of joyous celebrations, take a vow to meet every year at the village. It was where they have lived, fought a war, and survived challenging times. Now seventy years later, they get to fulfill their promise. The American missionary Pastor Billy, the gunner’s mate Ian Ferguson, and a local soldier Liu Zhaohu come together…