• BOOK REVIEWS,  FICTION,  MYSTERY,  NETGALLEY,  SUSPENSE,  THRILLER

    BOOK REVIEW : UNSPEAKABLE THINGS BY JESS LOUREY

    TITLE : Unspeakable Things AUTHOR : Jess Lourey GENRE : Adult/Thriller/Mystery/Suspense FBRC RATING : 2 stars SYNOPSIS : Inspired by a terrifying true story from the author’s hometown, a heart-pounding novel of suspense about a small Minnesota community where nothing is as quiet—or as safe—as it seems. Cassie McDowell’s life in 1980s Minnesota seems perfectly wholesome. She lives on a farm, loves school, and has a crush on the nicest boy in class. Yes, there are her parents’ strange parties and their parade of deviant guests, but she’s grown accustomed to them. All that changes when someone comes hunting in Lilydale. One by one, local boys go missing. One by…

  • BOOK EXCERPT,  BOOK PROMOTIONS,  BOOK TOUR,  COMEDY / SATIRE / HUMOR,  FICTION,  MYSTERY

    ROCKSTAR BOOK TOURS – BOOK EXCERPT : REAL PIGEONS FIGHT CRIME BY ANDREW MCDONALD

    I am thrilled to be hosting a spot on the REAL PIGEONS FIGHT CRIME by Andrew McDonald & Ben Wood hosted by Rockstar Book Tours. Check out my post and make sure to enter the giveaway! About The Book: Title: REAL PIGEONS FIGHT CRIME Author: Andrew McDonald & Ben Wood (Illustrations) Pub. Date: January 7, 2020 Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers Formats: Hardcover, eBook Pages: 208 Find it: Goodreads, Amazon, Kindle, B&N, iBooks, Kobo, TBD Ever wonder why pigeons act so weird? Because they are secretly chasing bad guys and flying around saving your butt! This hilarious illustrated series is perfect for fans of BAD GUYS and DOG MAN. What do REAL PIGEONS do? They fight…

  • BOOK REVIEWS,  FICTION,  MYSTERY,  SUSPENSE,  THRILLER

    BOOK REVIEW : THE HOUSE WITHOUT A KEY BY KARIN MONTGOMERY

    TITLE : The House Without A key AUTHOR : Marin Montgomery GENRE : Mystery/Thriller/Suspense FBRC RATING : 2.5 Stars BLURB : When 17-year-old Maddy Pruitt vanishes from her sleepy town, word on the street is that she ran away. The daughter of an abusive alcoholic with a quick temper, she had every reason to leave in search of something better, and everyone who knew Maddy knew the type of company she kept wasn’t always ideal. But when a second 17-year-old girl from a local, affluent family turns up missing shortly after Maddy’s disappearance, the circumstances become suspicious. Even though the girls are perfect strangers from opposite sides of town, attended…

  • ADULT,  FICTION,  MYSTERY,  NETGALLEY,  SUSPENSE,  THRILLER

    BOOK REVIEW : THE MISSING SISTER BY ELLE MARR

    TITLE : The Missing Sister AUTHOR : Elle Marr GENRE : Adult/Thriller/Mystery/Suspense FBRC RATING : 3 stars PUBLISHING DATE : 1 April 2020 BLURB : In Paris, her twin sister has vanished, leaving behind three chilling words: Trust no one. Shayna Darby is finally coming to terms with her parents’ deaths when she’s delivered another blow. The body of her estranged twin sister, Angela—the possible victim of a serial killer—has been pulled from the Seine. Putting what’s left of her life on hold, Shayna heads to Paris. But while cleaning out Angela’s apartment, Shayna makes a startling discovery: a coded message meant for her alone… Alive. Trust no one. Taking the…

  • ADULT,  CRIME,  FICTION,  MYSTERY,  NETGALLEY,  SUSPENSE,  THRILLER

    BOOK REVIEW : ONE LITTLE SECRET BY CATE HOLAHAN

    His irises seemed to melt into his pupils, two black holes rimmed with dying stars, sucking the light from the room, pulling her into darkness. – ONE LITTLE SECRET (CATE HOLAHAN) TITLE : One Little Secret AUTHOR : Cate Holahan GENRE : Mystery, Thriller, Suspense, Adult FBRC RATING : 3.75 stars BLURB : Everyone has a secret. For some, it’s worth dying to protect. For others, it’s worth killing. The glass beach house was supposed to be the getaway that Susan needed. Eager to help her transplanted family set down roots in their new town – and desperate for some kid-free conversation – she invites her new neighbors to join…

  • ADULT,  BOOK REVIEWS,  FICTION,  MYSTERY,  NETGALLEY,  SUSPENSE,  THRILLER

    BOOK REVIEW : THE FORGOTTEN CHILD BY D.E.WHITE

    TITLE : The Forgotten Child AUTHOR : D.E.White GENRE : Adult, Thriller, Suspense, Mystery FBRC RATING : 3 stars BLURB : Lights blinded her in an eerie white flash. She yanked the wheel as she felt the impact from the car behind her. There was a sharp pain, and then a bang in front of her, and after that nothing but darkness. Holly Kendal is trying to put her painful past and broken marriage behind her and focus on her beloved son, Milo. But while driving him home on a dark February night, Holly loses control on the rain-slicked tarmac, and her car spirals off the road. When Holly regains…

  • ADULT,  BOOK REVIEWS,  CRIME,  HORROR,  MYSTERY,  NETGALLEY,  NON-FICTION,  SUSPENSE,  THRILLER

    BOOK REVIEW : CHASE DARKNESS WITH ME BY BILLY JENSEN

    People read and watch and listen to true crime because it restores order from chaos. That’s the answer to give when someone asks you why you like hearing about real-life murder. It’s the comfort of watching everything be put in it’s place after an episode of outright, sickening bedlam. -Billy JENSEN (CHASE DARKNESS WITH ME) TITLE : Chase darkness with me AUTHOR : Billy Jensen GENRE : Non-fiction, True Crime FBRC : 4.5 Stars BLURB : Have you ever wanted to solve a murder? Gather the clues the police overlooked? Put together the pieces? Identify the suspect? Journalist Billy Jensen spent fifteen years investigating unsolved murders, fighting for the families…

  • ADULT,  BOOK REVIEWS,  CRIME,  FICTION,  HORROR,  MYSTERY,  SUSPENSE,  THRILLER

    BOOK REVIEW : LOCK EVERY DOOR BY RILEY SAGER

    Never take anything you haven’t earned, my father used to say. You always end up paying for it one way or another. -RILEY SAGER (LOCK EVERY DOOR) TITLE : Lock every door AUTHOR : Riley Sager GENRE : Adult Fiction/ Thriller/ Mystery/ Suspense/ Horror FBRC RATING : 5 stars BLURB : No visitors. No nights spent away from the apartment. No disturbing the other residents, all of whom are rich or famous or both. These are the only rules for Jules Larsen’s new job as an apartment sitter at the Bartholomew, one of Manhattan’s most high-profile and mysterious buildings. Recently heartbroken and just plain broke, Jules is taken in by…

  • FICTION,  MYSTERY,  SUSPENSE,  THRILLER

    BOOK REVIEW : RAIN WILL COME BY THOMAS HOLGATE

    What you should be asking yourself is, “How much pain can I endure?” -DANIEL LANGDON (RAIN WILL COME) TITLE : Rain will come AUTHOR : Thomas Holgate GENRE : Adult/Thriller/Mystery/Suspense/Crime FBRC RATING : 4.5 stars PUBLISHING DATE : 10 March 2020 BLURB : A thrilling, page-turning debut about a twisted killer and a broken cop—both with nothing to lose. Paul Czarcik, the longest-tenured detective in the Illinois Bureau of Judicial Enforcement, puts the rest of the team to shame. Ruthless and riddled with vices, Czarcik always gets his man. And fast. Until now… A double slaying isn’t the open-and-shut case of urban crime he’s used to. Connecting it to a…