the-secret-notebook-featured-image
ARCS,  BOOK REVIEWS,  CHILDREN'S,  FICTION,  MIDDLE GRADE,  MYSTERY,  NETGALLEY,  SUSPENSE

BOOK REVIEW : THE SECRET NOTEBOOK BY D A D’AURELIO

goodreads-button

TITLE : The Secret Notebook

AUTHOR : D A D’Aurelio

GENRE : Children’s Fiction, Middle Grade, Mystery / Suspense

FR RATING : ⭐⭐ ⭐⭐ 4.5 Stars

RELEASE DATE : August 1st 2020

FR REVIEW

DISCLAIMER : Thank you Netgalley and Capstone Editions for providing me with an ARC of this book. I am leaving this review voluntarily.

The Secret Notebook follows the young protagonist Riley Green. She loves science and makes a lie detector pen to elevate her status in the school where students with influential parents are studying. Her plan is derailed when her teacher goes missing and leaves her with an important document to protect. The book was a fun ride, with adventure and sleuthing to figure out the culprit who is planning to steal the document. Riley and her friends plan to take out the person. As the story progresses we get to see the kids solve the problem and secrets unravel.

I loved Riley and other characters. While some of the scenes are unbelievable and hard to suspend disbelief in those situations for an adult, I believe it’s amazing for a younger audience. Riley and her friends get into more trouble as they try to find the truth behind their teacher’s abrupt disappearance.

The story also adds some interesting facts about Nicola Tesla and his contributions to science. Nicola Tesla and his inventions are fundamental in driving this story forward. I loved how the author incorporated history and his contributions to the story. The story is fast-paced and takes us through some interesting twists and turns. Facts combined with fiction gives us an enjoyable read. I finished it in a day, and that’s how easy to get through the story was.

Overall the book was fun, entertaining, and quick to read through. I loved it and highly recommend checking it out. This book will be perfect for Middle-Grade readers who enjoy Nancy Drew, The Secret Seven, or The Famous Five series. I gave the book 4.5 stars and I had an amazing time reading it.

SYNOPSIS

Riley Green is certain her lie detector pen will improve her status in a school full of kids from the most powerful families of Washington, D.C. But her plan collapses when her invention idea is stolen, her favorite teacher goes missing, and mysterious threats begin to appear around capital. Before vanishing, Riley’s teacher entrusts her with her most prized possession, the lost notebook of Nikola Tesla, legendary inventor and scientist. Now Riley and her friends must protect the notebook from thieves who want to steal the details it holds about a dangerous invention. When Riley discovers another secret, she must decode a mysterious message before it’s too late. Her teacher’s life depends on it.

Liked it? Take a second to support Fazila KP on Patreon!

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: