TITLE : The Awakening (The Dragon Heart Legacy #1)

AUTHOR : Nora Roberts

GENRE : Adult Urban Fantasy, Paranormal, Romance

FR RATING : ⭐⭐⭐⭐( 4.5 Stars)

DATE OF PUBLISHING : November 24th 2020


DISCLAIMER : Thank you, Netgalley and Little, Brown Book Group UK for providing me with an ARC of this book. I am leaving this review voluntarily.

The Awakening is the first book in The Dragon Heart Legacy Series. When I saw this title on Netgalley, I knew I need to get my hands on it. Did I tell you that I happen to be a huge fan of Nora Roberts? I used to read a lot of her books, and I would search the local library for the other books that were part of the series. I believe I have read most of her books, and when I saw this one, I knew I needed to read this.

The Awakening is an urban, portal fantasy set in Ireland and the fantastical world of Talamh. The story is mainly told from the perspective of Breen, a young woman in America. Breen is an insecure and introverted woman who has lived her whole life being in the shadow of an overbearing mother. With her mother constantly working to put her down, she has a low opinion of herself and is very much vulnerable. Breen finds out some uncomfortable truths about her life and her mother that compels her to make the necessary changes in her life to get herself away from her controlling mother. With the help of her friends, she decides to start discovering herself. It also gives us the perspective of Keegan, a young man who takes up the sword to protect his realm from dark forces. The two meet together, and interesting things start to happen and change the route they had planned for themselves.

The story is superbly written, with the backdrop of Ireland setting an atmospheric quality to it. The writing is beautiful and descriptive, giving the readers the feeling of being part of the story. It will make you want to visit Ireland, that’s for sure. The pacing is much slower and you don’t get to see much action in this book as it is laying the groundwork for the upcoming books. But, trust me, you will never be bored. It is a book that you will want to read slowly and savor. The magic system is soft, and we are introduced to a lot of magical and fantastical creatures in the story. This book does a lot of world-building and character development and is a great set-up and foundation to build the rest of the series. The character introduction is more detailed, making me feel connected to the characters. I loved the introduction to the folklore, mythology, the different realms, and portal magic we get to experience through the story.

Breen and Keegan are the main characters, and we get to see how the two of them are where they are in the story. The backstory to Breen and her history helps us connect with her easier. I have always loved Nora Roberts’s writing, and she can make her readers care for the characters deeply. Both characters are deeply human, vulnerable, and strong at the same time. I loved Breen’s self-love journey, and I felt a stronger connection to her character. I felt like we had so many similarities, and her struggles at times reminded me of mine. Keegan also provides a glimpse into his life and thoughts through his perspectives. He is burdened by the duty and yet he doesn’t want to go back on the oath he has taken. He is loyal and duty-bound, but at the same time, offers sacrifices to protect his realm. The two of them will have to set aside their difference to work out a plan to protect Talamh.

Overall, the story was a strong start to a fantastical series. I have no doubt it will take us through an unforgettable and picturesque journey. The charm of the place and characters stand out in this book. If you loved the Cursebreaker series, you need to check this one out. There are some prominent similarities, and yet at the same time, this is unique on its own. If you didn’t know already, I loved the book, and I gave it a 4.5 stars rating. The ending has left me wanting more, and I can’t wait to see what Breen will get up to in the upcoming books. I highly recommend checking this out if you love portal, urban fantasy with beautiful descriptive writing that you need to savor slowly.





#1 New York Times bestselling author Nora Roberts begins a new trilogy of adventure, romance, and magick in The Awakening.

In the realm of Talamh, a teenage warrior named Keegan emerges from a lake holding a sword—representing both power and the terrifying responsibility to protect the Fey. In another realm known as Philadelphia, a young woman has just discovered she possesses a treasure of her own…

When Breen Kelly was a girl, her father would tell her stories of magical places. Now she’s an anxious twentysomething mired in student debt and working a job she hates. But one day she stumbles upon a shocking discovery: her mother has been hiding an investment account in her name. It has been funded by her long-lost father—and it’s worth nearly four million dollars.

This newfound fortune would be life-changing for anyone. But little does Breen know that when she uses some of the money to journey to Ireland, it will unlock mysteries she couldn’t have imagined. Here, she will begin to understand why she kept seeing that silver-haired, elusive man, why she imagined his voice in her head saying Come home, Breen Siobhan. It’s time you came home. Why she dreamed of dragons. And where her true destiny lies—through a portal in Galway that takes her to a land of faeries and mermaids, to a man named Keegan, and to the courage in her own heart that will guide her through a powerful, dangerous destiny…


Leave a Reply