Anchored-hearts-featured-image
ADULT,  ARCS,  BOOK REVIEWS,  CHICK-LIT,  CONTEMPORARY,  FICTION,  NETGALLEY,  ROMANCE,  WOMEN'S FICTION

ANCHORED HEART (KEYS TO LOVE #2) BY PRISCILLA OLIVERAS | BOOK REVIEW

goodreads-button

TITLE : Anchored Hearts (Keys To Love #2)

AUTHOR : Priscilla Oliveras

GENRE : Romance, Contemporary, Chick-Lit, Women’s Fiction

FR RATING : ⭐⭐⭐(3.5 Stars)

DATE OF PUBLISHING :   27th April 2021

FR REVIEW

DISCLAIMER : Thank you, for providing me with an ARC of this book. I am leaving this review voluntarily.

Anchored Hearts is the second book in the Keys To Love series from Priscilla Oliveras. This is the story of Luis’s sister Anamaría’s story. We follow Anamaría and Alejandro in this second chance romance story. Alejandro didn’t want to return to Key West after the way he left the island. His family is at odds with him and his ex-girlfriend, the girl who haunts him is also there. But circumstances force him to go back home and live in his family home. The Cuban family is just as chaotic and in your business as he left them. Anamaría has only just started to pick up herself from the rut she was in and move on with her life. She now has a promising future ahead of her and does not want Alejandro or anyone to mess up her progress. The two are constantly put together by their interfering Cuban Mami’s in hopes for a reconciliation. The two are however determined to keep their distance and not let the other hurt them anymore. With deep hurts and fears shadowing them, can the two ever find a truce? Will they be able to bury the past and move on?

This is a story of second chances and love and family. We get to see a different Cuban family with different dynamics and see how that changes things drastically. The history and the past of the two characters were laid out for the readers to see. Lack of communication, fear of rejection, and pride were the downfall of their relationship. The two realize the mistakes they made while they were young and have to work towards being better at conflict resolution. Finding a truce and burying the past is not as easy as it seems.

I loved the family unit and everything they did. It was hilarious watching the antics of the mamis and how they played their kids. The family dynamics was one of the best things in the first book as well. Though we don’t get a lot of that from Anamaría’s family, we do get a different Cuban family and it was delightful seeing Alejandro’s mami pulling the strings. She was a force to be reckoned with, that’s for sure.

While the families were the highlight for me, the romance itself, being a second chance fell a bit flat for me. I guess knowing the couples already having a shared history and the two still have feelings for each other, makes it hard to get attached to their building relationship. I wish we got to see a blast to the past that showed them as a couple and developing the bond rather than being told they were the IT couple. This is more about rebuilding their friendship and each of their personal journeys and the role the two played in those journeys. I didn’t hate the couple or their bond, just wished we got more banter, conversations that showed me how they were before.

Overall, I am looking forward to the next story for the final Navarro sibling. This is a cute romance, with great family dynamics, food, and Cuban culture all rolled up into a fun story. I gave the book 3.5 stars and recommend checking it out if you enjoy second chance romances.

Buy Book –

AMAZON US | AMAZON UK | AMAZON AE

DISCLAIMER : Some of the links are affiliate links, meaning, at no additional cost to you, I will earn a small commission if you click through the link and make a purchase.

SYNOPSIS

PopSugar Best Romance of April

Key West is the ideal backdrop for the summer read you need! Perfect for fans of Abby Jimenez, Jasmine Guillory, and Jen DeLuca, this gorgeous and stirring new love story from the author of Island Affair will touch your heart…

Award-winning photographer Alejandro Miranda hasn’t been home to Key West in years–not since he left to explore broader horizons with his papi’s warning echoing in his ears. He wouldn’t be heading there now if it wasn’t for an injury requiring months of recuperation. The drama of a prodigal son returning to his familia is bad enough, but coming home to the island paradise also means coming face to face with the girl he left behind–the one who was supposed to be by his side all along…

Anamaría Navarro was shattered when Alejandro took off without her. Traveling the world was their plan, not just his. But after her father’s heart attack, there was no way she could leave–not even for the man she loved. Now ensconced in the family trade as a firefighter and paramedic, with a side hustle as a personal trainer, Anamaría is dismayed that just the sight of Alejandro is enough to rekindle the flame she’s worked years to put out. And as motherly meddling pushes them together, the heat of their attraction only climbs higher. Can they learn to trust again, before the Key West sun sets on their chance at happiness?

Source : Goodreads

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: