Black-authors-featured-image
BOOK RECOMMENDATION

10 BOOKS BY BLACK AUTHORS YOU NEED TO ADD TO YOUR TBR !!

I am saddened by the events that have been happening around the world right now and especially in the US. With the racist attacks on people of POC & African Americans and especially the oppression faced by the black people we need to support and be an ally for the people who have been suffering. My heart goes out to you, and where I come from we don’t have these issues but we definitely have issues of colorism. Though I am not from the US, I am aware of the problems like police brutality, racism, oppression, injustice, and prejudice faced by the black community. I will support and do my part in helping our fellow brothers and sisters in humanity in any way possible.

I want to do my small part as a book blogger by bringing you books that are by black authors for you to support and to add them to your TBR list. We as readers can do this small thing and do our part in bringing in more diversity. I have never really bought/chosen a book based on the race of an author, yet when I checked the books I owned I realized that majority of the books I owned were by white authors, and there were only a few books by POC. Being a person of color myself, I am ashamed that I haven’t taken an active stance before or made a conscious decision to read more from POC. I need to change this and while I was actively searching I found these books, some new, some old, and some upcoming books that are written by black authors.

I am excited to read these and I have added them on to my TBR. I hope you will look through these lists and add them to your TBR and be an ally in supporting black authors. This will only be a small step, but it is a step in the right direction and I hope you will join me on this journey and we can make this change together. Let’s take a stand in bringing diversity into the book world, let’s celebrate voices of POC and bring justice to the oppressed. I will include Goodread links and Book Depository Links as well. The Book Depository links are not Affiliate links. I do not earn any money for this post, or for any sales of these books. My goal is to simply show my support by bringing recommendations to my readers and give these books a shout-out. This will be an ongoing series for black authors, other POC authors and content creators as well.

goodreads-badge-add-plus-71eae69ca0307d077df66a58ec068898-23

BOOK DEPOSITORY : https://www.bookdepository.com/Secret-Women-Sheila-Williams/9780062934222

The author of Dancing on the Edge of the Roof, now a Netflix film starring Alfre Woodard, returns with a riveting, emotionally rich, novel that explores the complex relationship between mothers and daughters in a fresh, vibrant way—a stunning page-turner for fans of Terry McMillan, Tayari Jones, and Kimberla Lawson Roby.

goodreads-button

BOOK DEPOSITORY : https://www.bookdepository.com/Clap-When-You-Land-Elizabeth-Acevedo/9780062882769

In a novel-in-verse that brims with grief and love, National Book Award-winning and New York Times bestselling author Elizabeth Acevedo writes about the devastation of loss, the difficulty of forgiveness, and the bittersweet bonds that shape our lives.

goodreads-badge-add-plus-71eae69ca0307d077df66a58ec068898-23

BOOK DEPOSITORY : https://www.bookdepository.com/The-Water-Dancer/9780593133118

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • OPRAH’S BOOK CLUB PICK • From the National Book Award–winning author of Between the World and Me, a boldly conjured debut novel about a magical gift, a devastating loss, and an underground war for freedom.

goodreads-button

BOOK DEPOSITORY : https://www.bookdepository.com/Nickel-Boys-Colson-Whitehead/9780708899434

The Nickel Boys is Colson Whitehead’s follow-up to the Pulitzer Prize- and National Book Award-winning bestseller The Underground Railroad, in which he dramatizes another strand of United States history, this time through the story of two boys sentenced to a stretch in a hellish reform school in Jim-Crow-era Florida.

goodreads-badge-add-plus-71eae69ca0307d077df66a58ec068898-23

BOOK DEPOSITORY : https://www.bookdepository.com/Purple-Hibiscus-Chimamanda-Ngozi-Adichie/9780007189885

Purple Hibiscus is an exquisite novel about the emotional turmoil of adolescence, the powerful bonds of family, and the bright promise of freedom. 

goodreads-badge-add-plus-71eae69ca0307d077df66a58ec068898-23

BOOK DEPOSITORY : https://www.bookdepository.com/Freshwater-Akwaeke-Emezi/9780802127358

An extraordinary debut novel, Freshwater explores the surreal experience of having a fractured self. It centers around a young Nigerian woman, Ada, who develops separate selves within her as a result of being born “with one foot on the other side.” Unsettling, heartwrenching, dark, and powerful, Freshwater is a sharp evocation of a rare way of experiencing the world, one that illuminates how we all construct our identities.

goodreads-button

BOOK DEPOSITORY : https://www.bookdepository.com/How-Be-Antiracist-Ibram-X-Kendi/9781847925992

Ibram X. Kendi’s concept of antiracism reenergizes and reshapes the conversation about racial justice in America–but even more fundamentally, points us toward liberating new ways of thinking about ourselves and each other. In How to be an Antiracist, Kendi asks us to think about what an antiracist society might look like, and how we can play an active role in building it.

goodreads-button

BOOK DEPOSITORY : https://www.bookdepository.com/Gingerbread-Helen-Oyeyemi/9781447299424

The prize-winning, bestselling author of Boy, Snow, Bird and What Is Not Yours Is Not Yours returns with a bewitching and inventive novel.

Influenced by the mysterious place gingerbread holds in classic children’s stories–equal parts wholesome and uncanny, from the tantalizing witch’s house in “Hansel and Gretel” to the man-shaped confection who one day decides to run as fast as he can–beloved novelist Helen Oyeyemi invites readers into a delightful tale of a surprising family legacy, in which the inheritance is a recipe.

goodreads-button

BOOK DEPOSITORY : https://www.bookdepository.com/Its-Not-All-Downhill-from-Here-Terry-McMillan/9781984823748

After a sudden change of plans, a remarkable woman and her loyal group of friends try to figure out what she’s going to do with the rest of her life.

goodreads-button

BOOK DEPOSITORY : https://www.bookdepository.com/Vanishing-Half-Brit-Bennett/9780525536291

From The New York Times -bestselling author of The Mothers , a stunning new novel about twin sisters, inseparable as children, who ultimately choose to live in two very different worlds, one black and one white.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: